دوائر، فيديو 2015 لمدة 12 دقيقة، عرض متواصل، الحقوق محفوظة للفنان تريفور باجلن

نظرة عامة

يقام معرض "الفن في زمن القلق" بتقييم من عمر خليف، مدير المقتنيات وقيّم أول في مؤسسة الشارقة للفنون، ويستقطب مجموعة من الفنانين المعاصرين لاستكشاف تأثير الأجهزة والتقنيات الحديثة والشبكات الرقمية على وعينا الجمعي في عالم اليوم، ويضم المعرض أكثر من 60 عملاً تتراوح بين المنحوتات والمطبوعات والفيديو وأعمال الواقع الافتراضي والروبوتات والبرامج اللوغاريتمية التي أنتجها أكثر من 30 فناناً من مختلف أنحاء العالم.

يستحضر معرض "الفن في زمن القلق" التدفق الهائل للمعلومات والتضليل والمشاعر والخداع والسرية التي تغزو الحياة الإلكترونية والواقعية في عصر التقنية الرقمية، ويهدف إلى تسليط الضوء على حالة ما بعد الرقمية، والسلوكيات والتصرفات المنتشرة في عالم متحول جراء بزوغ التقنيات الرقمية من جهة، وإثارة التخمينات تجاه مستقبلنا من جهة ثانية، حيث يقدم المعرض خلاصة ما يزيد على عقد من الأبحاث التي أجراها عمر خليف حول هذا الموضوع، بعد تقييمه لعدد من المعارض الدولية مثل معرض "نشأت على الانترنت" (متحف الفن المعاصر في شيكاغو، 2018)؛ و"الطريق السريع الإلكتروني" (غاليري وايت تشابل للفنون، 2016)؛ وتأليفه وتحريره لسبعة كتب حول نفس الموضوع مثل كتاب: أنت هنا: الفن بعد الإنترنت (هوم أند سبيس، 2018)؛ ووداعاً للعالم! نظرة إلى الفن في العصر الرقمي (منشورات ستيرنبيرغ، 2018).

يستضيف المعرض مجموعة من رواد الفن المعاصر من أمثال لورانس أبو حمدان، كوري أركانجيل، وفاء بلال، كاو فاي، لين هرشمان ليسون، جوشوا ناثانسون، تريفور باجلن، سيبرين فيرستيغ، أوفا، غوان شياو، ومجموعة يونغ-هاي تشانغ الفنية للصناعات الثقيلة، إلى جانب مجموعة من الأعمال الفنية ضمن مجموعة من الوسائط، بما في ذلك عمل "دوائر" للفنان تريفور باجلن (2015)، وهو عمل فيديو تركيبي أحادي القناة، يعرض مشهداً علوياً كما يبدو بعين الرقيب، إلى جانب مجموعة من صوره الفريدة مثل "انتزعوا الوجوه من المتهمين والأموات" (2019)، وصوره الإشكالية عن الغيوم، بالإضافة إلى تصويره لشخصيات تاريخية خضعت لنظام التعرف على الوجوه المستخدم في فيسبوك، وكذلك عمل "الأفعى العابرة للأبعاد" (2016) للفنان جون رفمان، وهو تعليق على طبيعة التكنولوجيا الاستحواذية باستخدام الواقع الافتراضي، ومجموعة مختارة من الأعمال المشتقة من عمل "مدينة آر أم بي" للفنانة كاو فاي، وهي مدينة افتراضية مصممة في عالم الحياة الموازية الإلكترونية التي تسبر أغوار الحدود الفاصلة بين الوجودين الواقعي والافتراضي.

تتضمن الأعمال الأخرى نسخة جديدة من عمل الفنان سيبرين فيرستيغ (2012) بعنوان مواعيد يومية (أداء)، والذي أعاد الفنان تخيله من أجل المعرض. ونرى فيه شاشة عملاقة تستند إلى عناوين صحيفة ذي ناشيونال الإنجليزية الصادرة في الإمارات لإنتاج لوحات تجريدية وفقاً لمحتواها. ويُعرض كذلك فيلم جينا سوتيلا الموسيقي بعنوان "نيميا سيتي" (2018)، والذي يستعرض الوعي والشبكات العصبية ولغة مريخية جديدة، وتعرض الفنانة لين هرشمان ليسون فيلمها "مطارد الظل" (2019)، لاحقاً لعرضه في مركز شيد في نيويورك، وهو فيلم ملحمي يستعرض الإجراءات الشرطية الاستباقية وسرقة الهوية ومخاطر استخراج البيانات، من بطولة الممثلة المعروفة تيسا تومبسون، ومسرحية "روح الويب الخفي" التي تؤديها جاينواري ستيوارد.

صمم معرض "الفن في زمن القلق" المهندس المعماري تود ريسز، بعد مشاركته في بينالي الشارقة 13، والذي تركز أعماله غالباً على مدن شبه الجزيرة العربية من منظور تاريخي ومعاصر، وأنجز هذا المشروع مع القيّم عمر خليف لتصور متاهة من الممرات والتجارب التي تستحوذ بالكامل على المشاهد. وتصاحب المعرض سلسلة من الفعاليات المتنقلة بما في ذلك ملتقى مصغر بالإضافة إلى إصدار كتاب بعده. يتوفر جدول الفعاليات الكامل قريباً.

الفنانون المشاركون
• لورانس أبو حمدان
• كوري أركانجيل
• جيريمي بايلي
• وفاء بلال
• جيمس بريدل
• كونستانت دولارت
• مسرح ديستيربنس الإلكتروني
• كاو فاي
• أوليفر لاريك
• لين هرشمان ليسون
• رفائيل لوزانو-هيمر
• إيفا وفرانكو ماتيس
• جوشوا ناثانسون
• كاتيا نوفتسكوفا
• تريفور باجلن
• جون رافمان
• أنطوني كاتالا
• دوغلاس كوبلاند
• تومبسون أند كريغهيد
• سيمون ديني
• ألكساندرا دومانوفيتش
• تابور روباك
• باميلا روزنكرانز
• أورا ساتز
• بوغوسي سيكوكوني
• جينا سوتيلا
• أوفا
• سيبرين فيرستيغ
• أندرو نورمان ويلسون
• غوان شياو
• مجموعة يونغ-هاي تشانغ الفنية للصناعات الثقيلة

Art in the Age of Anxiety, 2020

Art in the Age of Anxiety, 2020. Installation view: Sharjah Art Foundation. Photo: Danko Stjepanovic

Sharjah Art Foundation is pleased to inform you that we will be reopening some of our venues from 26 June 2020 onwards. To ensure your comfort and security, visitors interested in viewing this exhibition should book a slot in advance here. Tickets are complimentary however, reservation is required.

To read more about our new health and safety regulations, please click here.

Overview

Curated by SAF Director of Collections and Senior Curator Omar Kholeif, Art in the Age of Anxiety brings together a global group of contemporary artists to explore the ways everyday devices, technologies and digital networks have altered our collective consciousness. The exhibition presents more than 60 works spanning sculpture, prints, video, virtual reality, robotics and algorithmic programs developed by more than 30 international artists.

Art in the Age of Anxiety conjures the bombardment of information, misinformation, emotion, deception and secrecy that invades online and offline life in the age of digital technology. It aims to illuminate the “post-digital” condition—the manners and behaviours found in a world altered by the rise of digital technologies—and posits speculations for our future. The exhibition represents the culmination of more than a decade of research on the subject by Kholeif, who has previously curated internationally touring exhibitions such as I Was Raised on the Internet (MCA Chicago, 2018) and Electronic Superhighway (Whitechapel Gallery, 2016) and authored and edited seven books on the subject, including You Are Here: Art After the Internet (HOME and Space, 2018) and Goodbye, World! Looking at Art in the Digital Age (Sternberg Press, 2018).

The exhibition features leading contemporary practitioners including Lawrence Abu Hamdan, Cory Arcangel, Wafaa Bilal, Cao Fei, Lynn Hershman Leeson, Joshua Nathanson, Trevor Paglen, Siebren Versteeg, UVA, Guan Xiao and YOUNG-HAE CHANG HEAVY INDUSTRIES and works across a range of media.Trevor Paglen’s Circles (2015), is a single-channel video installation offering an atmospheric view into the surveillance state, and is presented alongside some of his most iconic photographs such as They Took the Faces from the Accused and the Dead… (2019), his infamous cloud photographs, as well as his portraits of historical figures whose faces have been run through Facebook’s facial recognition system; Jon Rafman’s Transdimensional Serpent (2016), is a Virtual Reality commentary on the all-consuming nature of technology; and a selection of works realized from Cao Fei’s RMB City, a virtual city designed in the online world of Second Life that probes the boundary between real and virtual existence, will also be presented

Other highlights include a new version of Siebren Versteeg’s iconic 2012 work Daily Times (Performer), which is re-imagined for the exhibition. Here, a giant screen draws from headlines produced by the UAE-based English language newspaper The National and produces abstract paintings in response to its content. Also on view is Jenna Sutela’s musical film Nimiia Cétïï (2018) exploring consciousness, neural networks and a new Martian language. Following its recent presentation at The Shed in New York is Lynn Hershman Leeson’s Shadow Stalker (2019), an epic film that explores Predictive Policing, Identity Theft and the dangers of Data mining, featuring renowned actress Tessa Thompson and “The Spirit of the Deep Web” played by January Steward.

The exhibition design for Art in the Age of Anxiety is created by architect—and Sharjah Biennial 13 participant—Todd Reisz. Reisz’s work often focuses on cities of the Arabian Peninsula from both historical and contemporary perspectives. Here, he has worked with curator Omar Kholeif to imagine a physical maze of corridors and experiences that will fully immerse the viewer. The exhibition will also be accompanied by a publication after the exhibition and a series of discursive events including a mini symposium. The full schedule of events will be available in early 2020.

Participating artists

Lawrence Abu Hamdan
Cory Arcangel
Jeremy Bailey
Wafaa Bilal
• James Bridle
Antoine Catala
Douglas Coupland
Thomson & Craighead
Simon Denny
Aleksandra Domanović
Constant Dullaart
• Electronic Disturbance Theater
Cao Fei
Oliver Laric
• Lynn Hershman Leeson
Rafael Lozano-Hemmer
Eva and Franco Mattes
Joshua Nathanson
Katja Novitskova
• Trevor Paglen
Jon Rafman
• Tabor Robak
Pamela Rosenkranz
Aura Satz
Bogosi Sekhukhuni
Jenna Sutela
UVA
Siebren Versteeg
Andrew Norman Wilson
Guan Xiao
YOUNG-HAE CHANG HEAVY INDUSTRIES

Artwork Images

Trevor Paglen
CLOUD #865 Hough Circle Transform, 2019
Dye sublimation print; 156.53 cm x 126.05 cm
Installation view: Art in the Age of Anxiety, Sharjah Art Foundation, 2020
Courtesy of the artist and Pace Gallery, New York
© Trevor Paglen. Photo: Danko Stjepanovic

View all images
 Image

Art in the Age of Anxiety, 2020
Installation view: Gallery 1, Al Mureijah Art Spaces, Sharjah Art Foundation
Photo: Danko Stjepanovic

 Image

Trevor Paglen, ‘de Beauvoir’ (Even the Dead Are Not Safe), 2019
From ‘Even the Dead Are Not Safe’, 2019
Colourised eigenface, dye sublimation print; 126.05 x 126.05 cm
Installation view: Art in the Age of Anxiety, Sharjah Art Foundation, 2020
Courtesy of the artist and Pace Gallery, New York
© Trevor Paglen
Photo: Danko Stjepanovic

 Image

Art in the Age of Anxiety, 2020
Installation view: Sharjah Art Foundation
Photo: Danko Stjepanovic

Close images
 Image

Sponsors

Sponsors